|   Forgot username?   |   Forgot password?   |   New User?
Home Learning Center Data Feed Services Branding Services FAQs about us
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Learning Center Home > State Foreclosure Laws and Process
Attorney/Trustee File Number
  
ZIP Code
 
Property Address
 
Sale Date
 
Advanced Search
Alaska
Arizona
California
Hawaii
Idaho
Montana
Nevada
Oregon
Tennessee
Washington
State Foreclosure Laws and Process
Alabama

Alaska

Arizona

Arkansas

California

Colorado

Connecticut

Delaware

District of Columbia

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

Idaho

Illinois

Indiana

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maine

Maryland

Massachusetts

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi

Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York

North Carolina

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

South Carolina

South Dakota

Tennessee

Texas

Utah

Vermont

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wyoming

Texas
Foreclosure Posting Requirements
When a foreclosure complaint is filed, service must be obtained thereon by serving, upon all defendants, a summons with a copy of the complaint. Service is perfected by either certified mail that is issued by the clerk of courts or personal residence service issued through the sheriff’s office. In either event, the defendant has 28 days after a receipt of the summons to file an answer to the complaint. If certified mail service is returned by the post office indicating that the letter is unclaimed or refused, then ordinary mail service may be issued through the clerk’s office. Service is considered perfected upon mailing by the clerk and the defendant has 28 days within which to respond to the pleadings or is considered in default. If service cannot be obtained by certified mail, ordinary mail or personal residence service, then service by publication is allowed by statute, which necessitates the filing of an affidavit and, in certain counties, actually preparing the advertisement of publication, as well as Orders of Publication. The rules in Texas provide that the Affidavit for Service by Publication must delineate the reasonable steps taken to locate the party against whom service is being obtained. The advertisement of publication is published for 6 consecutive weeks in a newspaper of general jurisdiction within the county, and the defendant has 4 weeks thereafter to file his answer of to be considered in default.
Foreclosure Auction Locations
Most states direct the specific location where a sheriff, trustee or creditor may conduct a foreclosure sale. Often the direction is as vague as “any public place within the county in which the property is located.” Other times, the statute requires that a foreclosure sale only be held at the site of the property to be foreclosed. Foreclosure sales can be conducted only at the county courthouse.
Foreclosure Timeline
Timeline StepDays for StepTotal Days
Initiate foreclosure by transmitting relevant documents11
Record Notice of Default  
Send 10 (business) days notice112
Receive and review Trustee’s Sale Guarantee; send 1-month notices132
Begin required postings and publishings of sale; required Notice of Sale mailed to all entitled parties9093
Loan may be reinstated up to five business days before saleN/A112
Sale held24117
Trustee’s Deed is prepared and sent to county3120

(Timeline is for non-judicial foreclosures. Intervals are optimal and assumes no delays.)
State Statutes
Texas Foreclosure Statutes