|   Forgot username?   |   Forgot password?   |   New User?
Home Learning Center Data Feed Services Branding Services FAQs about us
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Learning Center Home > State Foreclosure Laws and Process
Attorney/Trustee File Number
  
ZIP Code
 
Property Address
 
Sale Date
 
Advanced Search
Alaska
Arizona
California
Hawaii
Idaho
Montana
Nevada
Oregon
Tennessee
Washington
State Foreclosure Laws and Process
Alabama

Alaska

Arizona

Arkansas

California

Colorado

Connecticut

Delaware

District of Columbia

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

Idaho

Illinois

Indiana

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maine

Maryland

Massachusetts

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi

Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York

North Carolina

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

South Carolina

South Dakota

Tennessee

Texas

Utah

Vermont

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wyoming

Arizona
Foreclosure Posting Requirements
The notice of trustee’s sale shall be published in a newspaper of general circulation in each county in which the trust property to be sold is located, and such notice shall be published at least once a week for four consecutive weeks. The last date of publication shall not be less than 10 days prior to the date of sale. The cost of publication varies, based upon the length of the legal description and the county where the notice is being published. The notice of trustee’s sale must also be posted at least 20 days before the date of sale in some conspicuous space on the trust property to be sold, and at one place provided for posting public notices at the superior courthouse in the county where the trust property is located.
Foreclosure Auction Locations
Most states direct the specific location where a sheriff, trustee or creditor may conduct a foreclosure sale. Often the direction is as vague as “any public place within the county in which the property is located.” Other times, the statute requires that a foreclosure sale only be held at the site of the property to be foreclosed. Judicial foreclosure sales can only take place at the county courthouse. Non-judicial foreclosure sales take place at the property, the courthouse or the trustee’s office. Bidders must provide a refundable $10,000 deposit to bid.
Foreclosure Timeline
Timeline StepDays for StepTotal Days
Open file; order Trustee’s Sale Guarantee report; prepare and send statement of Breach and Notice of Substitution of Trustee to client if not received with foreclosure file11
Review of Trustee’s Sale Guarantee report by processor and second review by attorney as soon as TSG is received from file company78
Set Trustee’s Sale; record Notices of Trustee’s Sale and order title bring down210
Mail Notices to required/interested person(s) (must be done within 5 days of recording Notice of Trustee’s Sale)414
Send notice to publisher for publishing, and send Notice for posting4155
Request IRS bring down 30 days before scheduled Trustee Sale1368
Send special notice to IRS, if necessary, for liens filed more than 30 days before scheduled Trustee’s Sale775
Send Grant Deed to client and request bid figures580
Prepare for Trustee’s Sale, and prepare bid for Trustee’s Sale1292
Conduct Trustee’s Sale; send Trustee’s Deed to title company; order title policy and send copies and billing to client10102
Send Grant Deed to title company to record and order Title Policy when notified by client, if FHA or conventional loan; prepare title package and deliver to VA or FHA, and send copies to client with title company billing for title policy1115

(Timeline is for non-judicial foreclosures. Intervals are optimal and assumes no delays.)
State Statutes
Arizona Foreclosure Statutes