|   Forgot username?   |   Forgot password?   |   New User?
Home Learning Center Data Feed Services Branding Services FAQs about us
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Learning Center Home > State Foreclosure Laws and Process
Attorney/Trustee File Number
  
ZIP Code
 
Property Address
 
Sale Date
 
Advanced Search
Alaska
Arizona
California
Hawaii
Idaho
Montana
Nevada
Oregon
Tennessee
Washington
State Foreclosure Laws and Process
Alabama

Alaska

Arizona

Arkansas

California

Colorado

Connecticut

Delaware

District of Columbia

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

Idaho

Illinois

Indiana

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maine

Maryland

Massachusetts

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi

Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York

North Carolina

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

South Carolina

South Dakota

Tennessee

Texas

Utah

Vermont

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wyoming

Alaska
Foreclosure Posting Requirements
The Notice of Default (NOD), must be mailed by certified mail to the trustor and his successors, anyone in possession, and the junior lien holders. The Notice must also be posted on the property and the property visually inspected for evidence of recent construction activities. If any such evidence is seen, an attempt must be made to give notice of the foreclosure to those performing the work. Notice of the sale must be posted in three public places within 5 miles of the location of the sale and at least 30 days prior to the sale. One of the places must be in the U.S. Post Office located nearest to where the sale will be held. Notice of the sale must also be published once a week for four consecutive weeks, in a newspaper of general circulation published nearest to the place of sale.

In addition to the notice required by by law, a notice of the sale of real property on execution shall be given by publishing a notice of the sale on a qualified* Internet website beginning at least 45 days before the date of the sale.

*Please refer to AS 09.35.140 - Section 2, as amended by Alaska 26th legislature HB 108 for Internet website qualification to publish notices of sale. Link to amendment at the end of this section
Foreclosure Auction Locations
Most states direct the specific location where a sheriff, trustee or creditor may conduct a foreclosure sale. Often the direction is as vague as “any public place within the county in which the property is located.” Other times, the statute requires that a foreclosure sale only be held at the site of the property to be foreclosed. Foreclosure sales can be conducted at public auction held at the front door of a courthouse of the superior court in the judicial district where the property is located, unless the deed of trust specifically provides that the sale shall be held in a different place.
Foreclosure Timeline
Timeline StepDays for StepTotal Days
Loan referred/file received11
Trustee Sale Guarantee report ordered11
Trustee Sale Guarantee report received and reviewed5-66-7
Beneficiary’s Declaration and Substitution of Trustee prepared, and sent to client for execution17-8
Sale date set: Notice of Default sent to record (after return of executed documents by client)18-9
NOD recorded2-410-13
Publication/posting of sale completed6575-78
Sale held30105-108
Deed recorded3108-111

(Timeline is for non-judicial foreclosures. Intervals are optimal and assumes no delays.)
State Statutes
Alaska Foreclosure Statutes